Branch Currency Choices

Bank of Ireland offers foreign currency exchange services to BOI customers at all our cash branches around the country.

Currency Converter

Branch Currency Choices

Bank of Ireland offers foreign currency exchange services to BOI customers at all our cash branches around the country1. Below you will find a list of our foreign currency exchange services.

Available Foreign Currency

Country Currency
USA US Dollar (USD)
United Kingdom Sterling (GBP)
While every effort is made to ensure each foreign currency above is generally available stocks can diminish during busy periods of currency exchange. Restocking may be subject to time-lock release and/or delivery schedules for foreign exchange
  • Pre-ordered Foreign Currency

    We also buy and sell a large range of foreign currencies so that our foreign exchange service is as expansive as possible. All of these currencies can be pre-ordered online or at your local Bank of Ireland branch (excluding Advice & Self Service branches). Your foreign exchange order will be available for you in just a few days and you pay for the foreign currency ordered when you collect it.

    Country Currency
    Canada Canadian Dollar (CAD)
    Australia Australian Dollar (AUD)
    Poland Polish Zloty (PLN)
    Thailand Thai Baht (THB)
    Turkey Turkish Lira (TRY)
    New Zealand New Zealand Dollar (NZD)
    Switzerland Swiss Franc (CHF)
    South Africa South African Rand (ZAR)
    United Arab Emirates Arab Emirate Dirham (AED)
    Bahrain Bahrain Dinar (BHD)
    Bulgaria Bulgarian Lev (BGN)
    Hong Kong Hong Kong Dollar (HKD)
    Hungary Hungarian Forint (HUF)
    Malaysia Malaysian Ringgit (MYR)
    Sweden Swedish Krona (SEK)
    Barbados Barbados Dollar (BBD)
    Israel Israeli New Sheqel (ILS)
    China Chinese Yuan (CNY)
    Japan Japanese Yen (JPY)
    Norway Norwegian Kroner (NOK)
    Denmark Danish Krone (DKK)
    Saudi Arabia Saudi Riyal (SAR)
    Singapore Singapore Dollar (SGD)
    Czech Republic Czech Koruna (CZK)
  • Euro Zone Countries

    Remember, if you are travelling within the Euro Zone there is no need for foreign exchange. The following countries use the Euro as their domestic currency:

    Countries that use the Euro as their domestic currency
    Austria Greece Portugal
    Belgium Ireland Slovakia
    Cyprus Italy Slovenia
    Estonia Latvia Spain
    Finland Lithuania The Netherlands
    France Luxembourg Germany
    Malta Andorra Corsica
    Balearic Islands Canary Islands Greek Islands
    Monaco San Marino The Vatican City
  • Travellers Cheques

    Please note: Since the 30th April 2010, Travellers cheques are no longer sold or encashed by Bank of Ireland.

  • International Fees and Charges

    The below leaflet outlines the charges applying to International Payments, Travel Money and Trade Finance Services provided by Bank of Ireland.

    Download Schedule of International Fees and Charges


1 Your local Bank of Ireland branch buys and sells a wide range of foreign currency notes and the following currencies are normally available at your local branch (Excludes Dublin Airport branch and all our Advice & Self Service branches)